PDA

View Full Version : What's on your "Skills to Master" list?

Pict
10-21-2010, 11:49 AM
We should all be working on some kind of skill. I get kind of bored with the things to buy threads. I think the best part of bushcraft is that it is inexpensive and the skills can be largely self taught so acquiring them is only an investment of time.

I always keep a lookout for people who have mastered the skills I want to learn. This place is a goldmine of information. What are the skills you are currnetly working on, or what's next on deck?

For me it is ...

Thigh rolling cordage
Net Making with a net needle
"Floating Hands" Technique for the hand drill

YouTube - Bushcraft Floating Hand Drill (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ns8UMJ5WM3g)

Too cool IMO

Mac

EnglishManInOntario
10-21-2010, 11:55 AM
Bowdrill, bowdrill and bowdrill :)

Sweeneyguy
10-21-2010, 12:01 PM
Jedi Mind Trick then casting lighting from my fingers :9:

Trekon86
10-21-2010, 12:01 PM
Bowdrill/handdrill,
Fires in wet weather,
Making a pump drill for boring holes,
Making a bushy lathe like Kep did:D
Continuing to improve my leatherworking,
Continuing to improve my rifle shooting,
Continuing to improve my pistol shooting, (shotgun I've got down),

and last but certainly not least, getting into better shape:o

I'm doing fairly well on that last jot, as I have been steadily losing weight since I came home from college. All of that greasy college food wasn't good for me I guess:o
I'm down to 192!:D

Now I need to start putting on muscle.
PMZ

Skab
10-21-2010, 12:03 PM
Funny you bring this up Pict, over on Blade Forums Bushbum has started a "owning the skill" thread has one for october on figure 4 traps and next months is using natuarl tenders. I have been practicing my figure 4s every day and I have to say it really helps being able to post and have others that are working on the samething at the same time.