PDA

View Full Version : Hudson Bay axe find and question

Lil Red
02-27-2011, 12:17 AM
I've found myself periodically checking the Snow and Nealey website to drool over their Hudson's Bay axe. Something about it draws me to it, though I've never used one before. Well today I got a steal on a Hudson Bay style axe at a local antique store. Picked it up for $10! There is rust that will come need to come off, and it will have to get resharpened and hung, but then I'll have the axe I've been wanting! Needless to say, I'm pretty excited!

The handle that came with it was extremely loose (I simply pulled the head off of it) and much too short for the weight. The original handle was about 15 inches long...much too short for this head as it weighed in at 1 pound 13.8 ounces, so just shy of 2 pounds. So what size handle should I put on it? I'm thinking it should be right around 26 inches long. Am I correct on that?

Should be the perfect mid-sized axe I've been wanting :)

justin_baker
02-27-2011, 12:26 AM
I am thinking a 24 inch handle....

Independent
02-27-2011, 01:19 AM
I used to have a Council Tools Hudson Bay Axe with 26" handle. I thought it was a perfect length for the head and for limbing and general camp use. I plan on replacing it with something very similar. http://www.counciltool.com/product.asp?pg=product&item=175HB28

justin_baker
02-27-2011, 02:07 AM
I was thinking that since a GB scandi forest axe is 2 lbs and 26 inches, a 24 incher would be good. But you couldn't go wrong with a 26 incher. Just be aware that most hardware stores (in my observation around here) only sell 28 inchers. That might be a bit too long, in my preference.

bleeding.patriot
02-27-2011, 06:17 AM
Handles lose about 2" during the hafting process. So a 28" handle will leave you with a 26" axe and so on. 24" handles are tough to find.