PDA

View Full Version : Coating for Hiking Staff

The Man In Black
03-29-2011, 11:25 PM
I have a piece of white wax wood that I am going to cut and make into a hiking staff. But what should I coat it with? I see many people seem to use tung oil. Why is this better than normal varnish?

And what hight should I cut it to? Shoulder hight would be about right, right?

Trekon86
03-30-2011, 12:10 AM
Tung oil and tung oil finishes (different animals) are both hardening oils. The difference being, pure tung oil takes much longer to dry but is food safe, whereas tung oil finishes (Formby's, etc) dry more quickly and harden to a nice shellac finish but are not food safe.

For a stave it shouldn't matter. Try Formby's, I've been using it on stuff for about two years and haven't had any issues with it flaking or rubbing off. The trick is to go thick over thin. E.G. a thin first coat, followed by a thicker one or more.

Works well, doesn't yellow like BLO does, and dries much more quickly than BLO as well. Astronomically quicker drying than pure linseed/flaxseed oil, for sure.

Polyurethane would work but in my experience is best for items that will not receive a lot of hard use or wear as it tends to develop wear spots or chips in the finish. Plus, polyurethane tends to come with stain premixed unless you specifically tell the guy behind the paint counter that you want clearcoat.
PMZ

bsred
03-30-2011, 01:29 AM
I think for a hiking staff at least as tall as you are, I usually try to get them a couple inches longer than height, so that if the foot splinters you can cut it down, shoulder high is probably good enough, but I think taller is better and more versatile. I Have never sealed any of mine but I will be from now on.

Ironwood
03-30-2011, 05:01 AM
I have used tung oil before. It gives a more natural finish. I have also used a spar varnish finish which is used for wooden boats. Its a more glossy finish but is fairly durable when applied in multiple coats.

Talfuchre