PDA

View Full Version : URL linking?



Stormstaff
12-14-2011, 07:00 PM
Ok, is it me and my computer or did something change?

When I would use the "Insert Link" button before, a box would pop up that I put the address in and then in the message box, I would be able to type a word for the link (naming the link?) instead of having the whole URL posted.

Ideas/suggestions?

Mods, please forgive me if this is the wrong sub forum for this but I honestly wasn't sure where to put it.

Thanks in advance!
Kirk

Bard
12-14-2011, 07:14 PM
Ok, is it me and my computer or did something change?

When I would use the "Insert Link" button before, a box would pop up that I put the address in and then in the message box, I would be able to type a word for the link (naming the link?) instead of having the whole URL posted.

Ideas/suggestions?

Mods, please forgive me if this is the wrong sub forum for this but I honestly wasn't sure where to put it.

Thanks in advance!
Kirk

You could always type it yourself. I started doing it years ago because it was simply faster than using dialogue boxes.

{url=paste URL here}Name the link{/url}

Substitute { for [ and Paste the URL with no spaces, beginning with http://

ETA: In case you want to see it, you can quote and then look: Here's Your Post (http://bushcraftusa.com/forum/showpost.php?p=915958&postcount=1)

arctxbushman
12-14-2011, 07:36 PM
I am still trying to figure out how to post pictures.

GreyOne
12-14-2011, 07:39 PM
I am still trying to figure out how to post pictures.

<http://bushcraftusa.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2681 >

jloden
12-14-2011, 07:41 PM
The forum software hasn't changed, the default option is to just insert a link and it only asks for a URL, like this:

http://jayloden.com/bcusa/2011-12-14/url_dialog.png

If you want to make text into a link, the simple way to do it is write out what you want to say, like "this is a link", then highlight "this is a link" and click the Insert Link button. That will automatically insert the URL with the link text you highlighted.

Croatoan
12-14-2011, 08:15 PM
All I have ever done is just type the words out. Then highlight those and click the insert link button, when the box pops up I paste the url and hit enter. It puts the link into whatever was highlighted.