PDA

View Full Version : Info please: Martin Super Diablo...

Roamer
03-17-2012, 05:13 PM
In an antique store today I found a Martin Super Diablo recurve bow for sale. I'm a noob at archery but I've been hunting for something simple to play around with and get started. Markings on the bow said it has a 46 lb. draw weight at 28 inches. It seems to be a shorter style of bow - it stood about as high as the bottom of my rib cage (I'm 6' tall) so maybe around 4' long. They're asking $150 for it with a 20% off sale, so $120.

Is this a good deal? And is this a good bow to whet my appetite a little?

Also, how would I judge whether the bow is serviceable and not worn out or something?

Roamer
03-19-2012, 10:15 AM
Bump for the Monday crew.

GMScooter
03-19-2012, 10:19 AM
Never heard of it before. Have you done any google research?

wingnuts
03-19-2012, 10:22 AM
I'd see if you can talk 'em down a tad. I have a new "short" martin recurve not sure of the model, yours might be a good buy as mine new was close to 120.00 a few yrs ago but is a base model, your sounds "super" so it must be a higher end one?

Aven
03-19-2012, 11:49 AM
Did it look like this? (http://www.martinarchery.com/bows1999/supe.htm)

wingnuts
03-19-2012, 11:51 AM
That is one pretty bow! and worth 120.00

Roamer
03-19-2012, 12:33 PM
Yes, Aven, it looks a lot like that! Didn't know they were still making them.

I did try some Google-fu on this. But as I said, I'm new to archery and don't really even know the terminology or what to look for.

So how would I judge whether this bow is in good shape? One think I did notice is that the finish on the bow is not shiny but rather a matte finish. Though I read somewhere that some of these were made this finish so they would not reflect light (in order to be more stealthy when hunting).

Aven
03-19-2012, 01:01 PM