PDA

View Full Version : whetstone

iabushman
10-14-2012, 06:18 PM
Need a little advise. I am new to sharpening knives and axes. I am looking at getting a double sided whetstone. What brand and grit would suggest. Some of the edges have nic's
Thanks Mitch

FortyTwoBlades
10-14-2012, 06:36 PM
Need a little advise. I am new to sharpening knives and axes. I am looking at getting a double sided whetstone. What brand and grit would suggest. Some of the edges have nic's
Thanks Mitch

Personally I like the DMT coarse/fine Diafold a lot. I keep one in my pack. To speed you along in your learning process, HERE (http://yhst-129988217023674.us-dc1-edit.store.yahoo.net/lib/yhst-129988217023674/SharpeningGuide.pdf) is a quick reference guide that covers some of the fundamentals of sharpening. Hope it helps!

bushwolf
10-15-2012, 11:03 AM
+1 on the DMT Diafold

KajunKat
10-15-2012, 12:08 PM
I have settled on diamond stones as well. I used to use a Norton Oil stone that had the double grit but diamond seems to cut much better. Once you get the coarse/fine stone you may want to consider a larger extra coarse bench stone for getting out chips and reprofiling. Also an extra fine for refining the edge and a leather strop with compound if you you want it "hair popping" sharp. The coarse/fine stone is a great place to start and will do almost everything you need.

rlh2
10-15-2012, 12:10 PM
Take a look at Smith stones out of Arkansas.

dewsblade
10-15-2012, 05:59 PM
i use a norton oil stone. i get the best results with it. then i use wet dry sand paper to polish the edge. arkansas are good also for polishing the edge.
I have diamond stones, never like them. i also have a set of king water stones, don't use then much. i sharpen knives for the guys at work, i never get any complaints. one guy says it was too sharp. no kidding. with the sand paper i use flat on wood , then on leather. I never try to convex a blade with just paper.i start with norton then go to the paper.

Mykos