Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: GPS for driving AND hiking?

Guide Supporter
    Bush Class Basic Certified
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,473 Times in 1,065 Posts

Default GPS for driving AND hiking?

I have been using my phone as a driving and mapping GPS so far but its accuracy leaves a lot to be desired. Thinking about getting a dedicated GPS unit and it occurred to me maybe I could find one that also works for hiking (and maybe geocaching if I get into that). Primary usage is for the car but before I go pick up another cheap Garmin I thought I'd ask around here and see of anyone knew of a unit that can do both effectively. I saw some threads on GPS units but most are focused on just woods use.

I've never used a GPS hiking before so I really don't know much about them or what to look for. Maybe what I'm looking for doesn't exist, or maybe I'm better off buying separate dedicated units? Thanks in advance for any tips!

-Jay
    "It is one of the blessings of wilderness life that it shows us how few things we need in order to be perfectly happy." --Kephart

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by jloden View Post
    I have been using my phone as a driving and mapping GPS so far but its accuracy leaves a lot to be desired. Thinking about getting a dedicated GPS unit and it occurred to me maybe I could find one that also works for hiking (and maybe geocaching if I get into that). Primary usage is for the car but before I go pick up another cheap Garmin I thought I'd ask around here and see of anyone knew of a unit that can do both effectively. I saw some threads on GPS units but most are focused on just woods use.

I've never used a GPS hiking before so I really don't know much about them or what to look for. Maybe what I'm looking for doesn't exist, or maybe I'm better off buying separate dedicated units? Thanks in advance for any tips!

-Jay