Thread: Kellam/Ahti Knives?

Tracker
    Thanks

Default Kellam/Ahti Knives?

Hey guys, I searched the board and found a bit of information on Kellam knives but I still have a few questions.

I am interested in one of their Puukkos, I also understand that Kellams are made by the guy that does Ahti knives. So I guess I have it narrowed down to the Kellam Wolverine or Kellam Puukko then the Ahti Vaara or Ahti Metsa. This is the size I am looking for but I am in a toss up between the regular carbon steel or the SPT steel on the Wolverine.

I am new to Scandi knives and I am just learning how to sharpen and use them for bushcraft duties. I think I am leaning towards the regular carbon steel in the Kellam Puukko, only cause I dont think I can get the Ahti knives shipped to Canada (Ragnar doesn't anymore).

Am I right in saying all 4 of these knives have the same blade length and shape, also the handles are just slightly different on each? Anybody use these knives, how are they for fit/finish and quality? Thanks

Scout
    Thanks

I think any of these will be a great blade. The ones that I have had and have have all been of very high quality fit and finish. I wouldn't hesitate to get any of them as I think you will be happy either way. That being said you might also look at Helle. They make pretty good stuff as well. The Wolverine appears to be .5 inch shorter than the puuko from Kellam. The Ahti Vaara has a 3 5/8 inch blade and the Metsa appears to be the same with a different handle. So, as you stated, they are all pretty close in blades lengths. It may come down to which handle you like best.

I just built a knife using the Kellam Carbon 4.7 and I like it very well (pics up here in the forum). I chose the regular carbon because it was cheaper and I am partial to traditional carbon blades. They are super east to sharpen IMO. However I don't think there is anything wrong with the SPT blades at all. They are still carbon just with a differential heat treat.