Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cutting and using green wood on public land?

Thanks

Default Cutting and using green wood on public land?

I am new to the bushcraft scene, but not the woods and backpacking/camping in general. I have really enjoyed learning all the neat things you can make or carve once in the woods but my question is this: since most of us have to use public land for our outings, what do you do when you need green wood to make things from? This would apply to pot hooks, bending bows for bow-drill friction fire, boughs for certain shelters, etc. Most of the National Forest land an Wildlife Management Areas here in Georgia stipulate not using or cutting live trees if I understand correctly. Really enjoy learning all this stuff, just trying to find legal places to put it to practice.
    Thanks,
    Jed

Thanks
    Thanked 2,947 Times in 757 Posts

Rut-roh here we go...

Edit: I'm editing my post because I didn't want to seem like a jerk. This has just recently been discussed with lots of opinions on each side, but the bottom line is you need to decide for yourself how to handle this situation.

For me, since you asked, I'm careful to only use what I really need and never take living things where they are scarce. So, in real terms, there are so damn many little trees around where I hike & camp that I'm not doing any harm whatsoever. Taking them from the top of a mountain where there are few and erosion will be a big problem is not something I would consider doing, however. There is plenty of fallen dead-wood for fires, too, but I usually can make due with a small armfull of sticks.
    Last edited by GrandLarsony; 03-06-2013 at 02:09 PM.

3. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to GrandLarsony For This Useful Post:

Thanks

I use saplings for various things

5. The Following User Says Thank You to cucumberfly For This Useful Post:

gram weenie Supporter justin_baker's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,359 Times in 882 Posts