Brain tanning

Discussion in 'Other Skills' started by DarkXstar, Nov 24, 2012.

1. DarkXstar

DarkXstar Guide

Blog Posts:
    I have brain tanned a few hides over the years. I am by no means a expert by any stretch of the imagination. Last year i found this site with a slightly different method it seems to be a little easier to me. It worked out well dor me so i thought you guys might like it.
    The bigest difference is the pre-smoke before braining and that the brains are mixed in water so it soaks in well without trying to rub in a even coat. Let me know what you think.
    http://www.tuckahoedanceteam.freehomepage.com/custom4.html

2. MarauderMan

MarauderMan Scout

Blog Posts:
    Just thinking on starting leatherwork...so in a couple of years, I may use this to start tanning my own hides! :)

3. Survival Jeff

Survival Jeff Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Great post! Alot of time saving info there.

4. driggs5454

driggs5454 Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Thanks. Very useful since I'm attempting to brain tan a deer hide I got a few weeks back

5. Axe

Axe Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Thanks! Great info. Something i will try very soon. I have used other tanning methods but never brain tanning.

6. Dakota Jim

Dakota Jim Scout Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    I read a saying once a while back. "Every animal has enough brains, to tan it's own hide." Tried it once on a badger. I don't think I fleshed it enough because it rotted. Talk about stink!

7. DarkXstar

DarkXstar Guide

Blog Posts:
    yea you have to get all the meat off and the membrane thats beyond it it will start to look kinda fuzzy when its ready to to finish. personally i like to use a wire brush to finish getting the rest of the membrane off

8. kaywoodie

kaywoodie Scout

Blog Posts:

I too, have used this method in the past with very good results. Instead of brains I substituted egg whites. To me, it worked as well as brains....

Kaywoodie

9. buckmaster

buckmaster Tracker

Blog Posts: