Can it be done with just a map and compass?

Discussion in 'Geocaching' started by Easy_rider75, Jul 26, 2011.

1. Easy_rider75

Easy_rider75 Bushwhacker

Blog Posts:
    Howdy all yeah gone and done it now I am curious about caching. Haven't done as of yet but I am wondering as I don't have that kinda money right now to drop on a GPS can it be done with a map and compass? If so any compass recommendations for it? Besides I figure I am very new to using one so figure be good training for it.

2. bearkat

bearkat Scout

Blog Posts:
    I have heard of it being done. A member on the geocaching.com, edscott, does it. You just need very detailed maps.

3. mosquitomountainman

mosquitomountainman Banned Member Banned

Blog Posts:
    Yes you can use a compass. Be sure you figure in magnetic declination and update it each year because it changes over time. ... Not a lot but depending upon the location it could throw you off after a few years have passed.

My favorite compass is a Suunto MC-2. They're around $40.00 at Survival Resources (http://bepreparedtosurvive.com/). That's where I got mine.

Steve

4. Panzer

Panzer Prepared Wanderer Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    I would think you will need to learn to rid grid coordinates and have a good UTM gird reader and a 1:24 topo to get the detail you need to find a specific spot.

5. zammer

zammer Guide

Blog Posts:
    Could you do it? yes. would you enjoy it? probably not! better to just concentrate on your map skills and find enjoyment thru that.

6. dwightp

dwightp Guide Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    Recent North Florida transplant from Northwest Geo
    Yeah, it CAN be done but it is simply not practical. You can get a GPS for less than a hundred bucks. Just save until you can get one or better still, find a geocaching club and go with some of them.

7. Chert

Chert Guide

Blog Posts:
    It might actually be even more enjoyable/rewarding doing it with map and compass.

8. bearkat

bearkat Scout

Blog Posts: