Draw filing

Discussion in 'Other Skills' started by Zornt, Nov 20, 2012.

1. Zornt

Zornt Guide

Blog Posts:
    My father was a machinist by trade, and one of the many skills that he passed on to me was how to draw file. I find uses for it all the time. Things like getting an edge ready to sharpen, flattening the backs of chisels and plane blades,etc. I also find it very calming, it slows me down and gives me much needed lessions in patience.
    What do you guys think of this technique?

2. 556mp

556mp Bushmaster Vendor Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    Use it almost daily. Great way of flatening stock, or keeping stock flat or keeping/making a consistant angle. Personaly I prefer draw filing over using a grinder.

3. tickflicker

tickflicker Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I use it a lot making stuff flat.

4. crookedknife

crookedknife Guide

Blog Posts:
    I find that it's a good way to get extra use out of a file that is too worn for much else. Also, draw filing with a fine cut file such as a raker file really gets an axe edge ready to finish off with a fine stone.

5. MtnManJoe

MtnManJoe Guide

Blog Posts:
    How about a description of the technique, for The Rest of Us - The Great Unwashed ..
    .. Thnx

Joe

6. rdec

rdec Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Essentially, you use a file as you would use a drawknife on wood. Hold the file in both hands at whatever angle is suitable and draw toward you with slight downward pressure. As with all file work, at the end of the stroke pick the file up and move it to the beginning. Don't scrub back and forth.

7. MiddleWolf

MiddleWolf Guide

Blog Posts:
    This is probably why the Japanese saws are so popular. The control gained by "drawing" just seems to be much easier to maintain. And if your arms get tired, you can use a rocking motion to assist.

8. woodsghost

woodsghost Guide

Blog Posts: