Finding flint in western PA

Discussion in 'Fire' started by ak47tanker, Jul 30, 2011.

1. ak47tanker

ak47tanker Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Hey guys, I live in western PA and i was wondering if anyone could give me some pointers on where to find flint and maybe a pic of what it looks like before its broken up. I could be stumbling over the stuff and just don't know it.
    thanks in advance

2. nothinghead

nothinghead Guide Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    I am no expert but flint is not found in the US. There are places to buy English flint online but if you just want somethin to make sparks with, quartz works. Really I take a striker with me hiking and strike whatever looks good. The qualities I look for are a sort or hard glassy or milky color, sharp edges, and how it breaks, does it flake off or crumble.

No expert but it has worked for me.

3. Trekon86

Trekon86 Guest

Blog Posts:
    No flint but you might be able to find quartz or chert.

There is supposedly a jasper deposit near me but I've never seen hide nor hair of it except perhaps bits and pieces, either half-worked or broken, that turn up in the fields....

PMZ

4. glouck

glouck Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Spoke with a geologist and he stated that the most abundant sources of flint are in Great Britain and parts of Europe. He went on to say that there are some smaller deposits in Texas and the Dakotas.

5. mikaelmazz

mikaelmazz Tracker

Blog Posts:
    I am in western pa also and I have never been able to find knappable stone of any sort.
    I belive that in the past there were vast trading networks which supplied certain areas with the knappable stone.

6. Newt

Newt Scout

Blog Posts:
  7. Dr. Redneck

Dr. Redneck Guide

Blog Posts: