Gregory Packs??

Discussion in 'Backpacking' started by wacker, Dec 18, 2012.

1. wacker

wacker Tracker

Blog Posts:
    So I've been looking for a new pack for 2-5 day hikes. I recently found through work I get a killer discount on Gregory packs. Cool, however due to there cost I really haven't looked at them before. I'm looking for a light back +/- 50L. I'm 6'2" and looking to carry 30-40 lbs of gear. Less in the future. Do any of you have first hand experience with the below packs?

- z55 or z45
    - Savant 48 or 58

Any other Gregory input or experience would be great too.

2. backwoodstrails

backwoodstrails Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I recently picked up a Gregory Z65. After trying on about 6 other packs, I was surprised at how well it fit. This is my first try with Gregory. In the past it has been a Dana Design Terraplane X and a couple of Osprey packs. I was looking for something lightweight (not ultralight) for 2 to 5 days trips.

I had always heard Gregory packs were for the tall thin guys, however, it looks like their discrimination against us short fat guys has ended!

3. jime

jime Scout

Blog Posts:
    I've always had very good luck with Gregory and feel they are very good packs, although heavier than I would prefer. I have the Savant 48 and use it as more of a day trip winter rucksack. It fits me well and is pretty stable and takes the extra winter stuff that I haul with no problem. I don't have a Z55 but it seems to have a good reputation with through hikers. Very simple suspension that can take more weight than they recommend but not comfortably. 40 pounds is pushing the limits (of comfort) in my opinion. I have a buddy who use one on his AT thru a few years ago and it worked well for him.

While there are lighter packs out there I always come back to Gregory and if you have found a good deal all the better!

4. Jimmythejet

Jimmythejet Tracker

Blog Posts: