Latest project and a question for the leather guys

Discussion in 'Self-made Gear' started by ctovey, Mar 3, 2013.

1. ctovey

ctovey Scout

Blog Posts:
    So after watching Beo-wulf's sheath making videos (which I totally recommend to anyone thinking about getting into leather work) I decided to make a sheath for my shiv. Its not my first but its the first I'm really pleased with.

uploadfromtaptalk1362366115532.jpg

uploadfromtaptalk1362366161326.jpg

And on to the question. I used a overstitch wheel and groover and the stitching come out clean on the front. However the back has a bit of a Frankenstein look to it. Any tips on getting the holes punched straight, or is this just something that takes practice?

uploadfromtaptalk1362366715032.jpg

2. Rubberducky

Rubberducky Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Im no expert but, it looks like when you punched your stitching holes in you leather it ended a bit crooked on the back, that is why they are lined up in the front and not the back. Depending on what process you used to could give an answer to the result but you most likely just need some practice is all. You did a great job either way and should be proud.

3. 2stoves

2stoves Scout Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    I was having same issue with my stitching. Front would look good, back sucked. I used the overstitch wheel, dampened the leather, and even used a groove. What finally helped me was using a drill press device with my dremel. It helped me get the holes straight and even through all the layers. It is called a Dremel Workstation.

http://www.casa.com/p/dremel-220-01...102711&utm_content=pla&adtype=pla&cagpspn=pla

Obviously a regular drill press would be great but I have no room for one so this works great for my leatherwork.

4. HardBall

HardBall What just happened? Supporter Bushcraft Friend Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    Yep, I have similar issues using a handheld cordless drill. I'm thinking drill press is the way to go.

5. clanmaki

clanmaki Guide