natural cordage and retting

Discussion in 'Other Skills' started by UAHiker, Nov 18, 2016.

1. UAHiker

UAHiker Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    i'm a complete newbie to natural cordage. i've found plenty of dogbane, milkweed, cattails and some others. I've tried extracting the fibers by splitting the stalk into quarters and the crack the sections down to get the fibers but i'm having trouble keeping the fibers in tack and in long sections. I also know some things need to ret, so when and what to rett?

Faiaoga, NWPrimate and melbolt65 like this.
  2. Guillaume Longval

Guillaume Longval Scout

Blog Posts:
    Im curious as well, tagged.

3. MiddleWolf

MiddleWolf Guide

Blog Posts:
    I'll come back and see some of this myself. Good questions.

4. melbolt65

melbolt65 Scout Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    For these types of materials, as you're pulling the material away from the cracked piece, work in chunks around 2-3 inches at a time or shorter if the skin is sticking to the woody material a lot. Start from the center of the piece rather than on the end.

Crack it at the center, next move up about 2 inches from the initial crack and make another crack. Work the cracked piece halfway off the skin in one direction and then go to the other side and work it backwards. If you only go in one direction it tends to stick and you start losing pieces.

Retting that I've seen done has been with wooden logs which causes each layer of the cambium to come apart in sheets and softens them up as well. The retting breaks the bonds down that hold the layers together before it breaks down the actual wood cells themselves. The result is a very soft pliable material, soft enough that some natives made clothing out of it. I attended a natural cordage course at the practical primitive school in new Jersey just last weekend where he showed us the result of retted split logs and it's pretty cool, the layers peel off almost like a book and are like a very soft paper.