ROTARY HOLE PUNCH?

Discussion in 'Self-made Gear' started by 6gun, Jan 9, 2017.

1. 6gun

6gun Tracker

Blog Posts:
    I bought the cheapie at Tandy when I first started doing leather work and it has been one of my favorite/most used tools. So much so that I have worn it out.

Before I go off and buy another, I thought I'd come here and ask if anyone had any recommendations. I don't mind spending money if I'm getting quality and better usage. I'm a technician by trade so spending money on tools is nothing new. :-(
    Barry J likes this.
  2. beacon

beacon Supporter Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    Skilled Crafter rotary hole punch ... I have two: One for myself, and a second I purchased for the junior leather worker in the house because it was that nice.

Their customer service is outstanding too. The first one I purchased wasn't sharpened properly, and they quickly sent me a second one at no additional cost to me; I didn't even have to send the defective one back. The replacement and the one for my son have been excellent.
  3. 6gun

6gun Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Thanks! I like the looks of that one, and my arthritic hands like the look of that compound leverage!
  4. Mikewood

Mikewood Guide

Blog Posts:
    Like you I started off with the entry level punch from Tandy.
    Then I got their high end forged punch. It's a really great punch but I have learned it's for light leather. To cut thru thick leather their hand punch and a hammer really work better. Drilling out heavy leather also helps. Stropping the punch edge makes the tools last longer. The cutters break and wear out. Just replace them and the tools will last longer. As you likely know don't just squeeze and shear thru. Twist the leather while you punch. That gives a slicing action that helps the tool cut and it will last longer.

Good luck!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    actichy and 6gun like this.
  5. Cheapeats

Cheapeats Scout

Blog Posts: