Topo Map printing?

Discussion in 'Geocaching' started by n8reimers, Feb 10, 2013.

1. n8reimers

n8reimers Scout

Blog Posts:
    Where do you get your topo maps for hiking and such? I need one and was winding if you guys had any free sites. Printing it on an inkjet.

2. almac

almac Scout

Blog Posts:
    you can get VERY nice topo maps for under $20 from: http://mytopo.com/.
    they even sell waterproof paper maps! :D

3. Oregon Jim

Oregon Jim Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Are they to scale and reliable? Other than USGS, I'm leery of trusting print outs. My local builders-mart will print maps for $2-7 plus laminate for $2.00 but I have not tested them against a .gov printed map

4. almac

almac Scout

Blog Posts:
    they are to a scale of your choice. go there and have a look.

5. scurvy

scurvy Tracker

Blog Posts:
  6. RM_Rambler

RM_Rambler Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Give this site a look:

http://caltopo.com/map.html

I've been using it for the last six months and have been very impressed with it. Its also the only map that I've found that has a slope shader built into it. Lets you see avalanche terrain dangers with just a quick glace with out all the work of using a slope meter. Also when you print, it crops the map to fit a standard 8.5x11 piece of paper while keeping the 7.5 minute scale (or which ever scale you choose to use). And its free.

7. jumbaaa

jumbaaa Tracker

Blog Posts:
    I luck out and my company produces maps and has our own cartography dept so I can get what I want for free. If possible... get your maps printed on tyvex. Its water proof, tear proof and they last forever.

Also in college took some map classes (learned some rather interesting items about maps and usages there of.)

One item of note that I learned from the class... most home printers "adjust" images to print easier, boarders etc etc... You might find that the maps you print might not be 100% right in terms of proportions.

8. DeseretPatriot

DeseretPatriot Scout Bushclass I