Year long expedition?

Discussion in 'Trips & Expeditions' started by sasquatch, Jan 9, 2013.

1. sasquatch

sasquatch Scout

Blog Posts:
    As I am currently a Freshman in college I want to try and plan a trip now (i.e. three to four years out) for a full 365 day trip out in the wilderness. Right now I need to figure out out how to finance it and what to bring. Right now I figure out what to bring. I know I will need supplies to build a cabin (chainsaw, hammer, nails, axe, hatchet, splitting wedges etc) and most certainly a months worth of MREs/ Freeze dried meals per person (in case of snow in or running out of food midwinter). I think I will want a 0 degree sleeping bag/ camping supplies while the cabin is built and probably a snow mobile in case midwinter supplies/ evac is needed. I don't plan on bringing alcohol as I think that will cause too many problems (drunken fight midwinter etc).

The current plan is me and one buddy go out with one or two deuce and a half's as we will bring a lot of stuff between the two of us. Basically a years worth of flour, yeast, freeze dried veggies and fruit, freeze dried meat, ammo, two hunting rifles (one at least bear capable), a shotgun, a 22, large first aid kit (Id like to be certified as a wilderness first responder, as would my friend), cooking gear, wood stove, spare parts for the truck, extra fuel for the truck and snow mobile, parts for the snowmobile, a large battery powered (or kerosene) lamp, extra batteries, headlamps/flashlights (with extra batteries), snowshoes or cross country skis, winter clothing, lots of wool blankets, two closed cell foam pads per person, reading material (a lot of it!),board games, journals, and probably more stuff.