Backpacking food. Easy and simple... need ideas

Discussion in 'Backpacking' started by C Bryant, Aug 19, 2013.

1. C Bryant

C Bryant Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I thought this should maybe go in the food forum, but after a quick glance it seems to be a bit more on topic here.

I'm going on a short "backpacking" trip this coming weekend and want to bring something different other than freeze dried backpacking food for every meal ( it's really just camping on an island, but you have to hike you gear in about a mile so it's "backpacking" and being such limits the gear/food you can take).

I have a lot of experience in camp food, where I can bring and store fresh stuff, but as I have only backpacked a couple of times would like some advice on what else to bring. I don't mind the freeze dried meals, but start to get really tired of them after having eaten four or five of them.

So, what do you folks like to eat while backpacking? I'm mostly thinking about meals here, snacks are not really an issue but I would be happy to hear about anything food related.

I should note that for this particular trip fires are not allowed. All cooking will be done by pack stove.

Last edited: Aug 19, 2013
  2. Slips73

Slips73 Guide

Blog Posts:
    I eat a lot of couscous not the tastiest but does the job and is filling, pair it with some canned chicken beans and lavish bread and you got a full blown meal. Salami hard cheese dried fruit and lavash bread for lunch, and I'm a die hard oatmeal for breakfast kinda guy

C Bryant likes this.
  3. jimmyt

jimmyt Living large! Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Lipton sides, canned meat, minute rice, dried fruits, instant mashed potatos are all good options.

C Bryant likes this.
  4. lepercan

lepercan Scout

Blog Posts:
    If you have the water. look up freezer bag cooking. Lots of recipes if you can get by the preppie recipies.

James Levite and Line Dawg like this.
  5. madmax

madmax Bushmaster

Blog Posts: