belt knife suggestions

Discussion in 'Edged Tools' started by Nic7364, May 13, 2018.

1. Nic7364

Nic7364 Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Ok guys I recently recieved a absolutely beautiful knife from @BogdanS (that I will be reviewing once I have some more experience with) the problem is that it is just too beautiful. I just feel bad when using it. I hope that over time that feeling will go away as it is an amazing knife. But for now I need a user, so here I am again asking for your suggestions on a belt knife. I will have it paired with a terava skrama, a bahco laplander and a Mora eldris. I will be using it as a general purpose knife, so primarily woodwork, food prep and general utility. I will not be using it to chop or beat on (with the exception of very small battoning), I want it for cutting and slicing, so I would prefer a thinner knife. I want something relatively cheap but if it really speaks to me I could be convinces to splash some money on it. Just to set the scene a knife that I am considering is the Mora Kansbol.
    Thanks in advance guys,
    Nic

P.S: I havent decided what grind I prefer so that does not matter at the moment. Also I would prefer higher quality steel. I like the simple design of the the esee 4hm but I want better steel than 1095 so I won't be buying it. I would prefer stainless but I dont mind. Also I have considered the terava 110 but have discounted it because I want a cutter and I dont have the power tools necessary to fix the fat edge.
    Edit: I have decide the best way to proceed is to use my knife mercilessly, so I can get over my self.

Last edited: May 16, 2018
    gila_dog, PeterPNL, JasonJ and 2 others like this.
  2. Johnny Bearclaw

Johnny Bearclaw Tracker

Blog Posts: