Can Someone Recommend Bushcraft Boots?

Discussion in 'Clothing' started by WanderingVermonter, May 16, 2019.

1. WanderingVermonter

WanderingVermonter Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Bobsdock and Zunga like this.
  2. Swampdog

Swampdog Supporter Supporter Bushcraft Friend

Blog Posts:
    I've been wearing Red Wing Shoes 8" leather lace-up boots for over 40 years. I suggest you find a store near you and go look at the different styles available.

They have a machine that will measure your feet to help you decide the proper fitting size; bring a pair of socks that you would wear while working in the woods.

Red Wing Shoes are well made and will last a long time with proper maintenance.

I would pass on steel-toed boots unless they are required by your employer do to job safety requirements.

Lichen, bosque bob, Bobsdock and 3 others like this.
  3. Seeker

Seeker Woods Bum Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    You're between NY and VT, iirc... tough for one boot to do it all in that climate. In my own dated experience, growing up outside Syracuse, NY in the 60s/70s/80s, I had three sets of footwear. I wore plain old workboots from about the middle to end of May until around September. In the rainy months, we'll say late March/April, Oct, and early November, it was rubber boots. In the snowy/cold months (where mud was no longer an issue), say Dec, Jan, and Feb, it was snowmobile boots; rubber lower, synthetic upper, removable/dryable felt liners.

The best combo I ever came up with for the rainy season up there was my regular workboots with good socks, tucked into a pair of construction overboots... knee high with the strap to keep them closed. Feet stayed pretty warm in those, though they were clunky. Did a bit of hunting with that rig.