Can you shine bees waxed boots?

Discussion in 'Clothing' started by JOttum, Mar 24, 2019.

1. JOttum

JOttum Nights Watch Supporter Bushcraft Friend

Blog Posts:
    So, I have lots of experience from the military with shining boots using good ol' kiwi. Now for the first time ever I have some rocky Ironclad's that are brown. I bought them to hike in. I'm thinking of coating them in beeswax to waterproof them and I'm wondering if I can then shine them up? You know, on Sunday's when I'm going to to look all nice and presentable.

Would I use a neutral color kiwi or would the saturated beeswax just shine up? would shining cause the waterproofing to wear out sooner?

Thanks for any advice all.

DavidJAFO, Winterhorse and Quinlan like this.
  2. 1066vik

1066vik Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    saturated beeswax will take a light shine with a brush, but if you want better, I'd go with neutral or light brown kiwi.
    shining won't hurt it any, because you're adding wax.

3. JOttum

JOttum Nights Watch Supporter Bushcraft Friend

Blog Posts:
    I thought as much, but I appreciate the pro tip very much!

Love the user name btw! We Vikings were doing so well until 1066 hit and the whole plan went to S###!

4. SilverFox

SilverFox Scout

Blog Posts:
    I routinely use bees wax on boots/shoes, then follow up with a regular shoe polish.Works great for me.

Winterhorse, ExAF1N1 and JOttum like this.
  5. KFF

KFF Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Old wool sock/mitten is the secret to gloss...

JeffG, DavidJAFO, Winterhorse and 3 others like this.
  6. OutnBacker

OutnBacker Guide

Blog Posts: