Fatwood-sorting and prepping: am I doing it the hard way?

Discussion in 'Fire' started by Geneh, Apr 29, 2019.

1. Geneh

Geneh Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    3292D47E-E8AE-4E34-82BA-C74F92219CCA.jpeg 14077F70-812A-4FE1-8B8B-4BDF68E113BC.jpeg

I scrounged up some fat wood out of pine stump’s yesterday, and I’m new at this stuff, sorting out what’s worthwhile and what just to throw away. My goal is pencil diameter pieces to supplement waxed twine. And because it fun. I use a ferro rod almost exclusively when I’m up in the woods.

Here’s pictures of the wildly varying density. To test if it’s any good should I just try to light a small pile of scrapings with the ferro rod?

Any other suggestions on sorting and processing this stuff, assuming I probably have a lot of lightly saturated wood to strip out? I cannot easily tell either what’s saturated with sap until the wood dries.

2. Robert Y

Robert Y Scout

Blog Posts:
    I tend to process as little as possible until I need to use it, because the turpentine has quite a bit more surface area to evaporate. Imagine a how long a load of wet laundry in a clothes basket would take to dry versus each piece of clothing hung out on the on the line. That being said, I know how tempting it is to want to see just how high of quality some of the pieces are :)

goon, beestokk, M.Hatfield and 10 others like this.
  3. Usingmyrights

Usingmyrights Supporter Supporter Bushcraft Friend

Blog Posts:
    I agree, keep it together as much as possible until needed. I've had some stuff start to dry out on me after awhile.

4. Geneh

Blog Posts:
    Oh. I thought this stuff was supposed to be good after drying. Almost all the stuff I brought home is in small pieces already.

5. MrFixIt

MrFixIt Old Jarhead LB#42 Supporter Bushcraft Friend

Blog Posts:
    @Geneh I don't process it down till I get ready to use it. I mostly gather what I need at the site. I used to stockpile a good bit but I have strayed away from that.