Finding a first pistol - Found it finally!!

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by HannahT, Jul 11, 2019.

1. HannahT

HannahT Firebug Hobbyist Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    I'm looking mainly for something to carry in the woods when I'm out by myself. I've been doing some research, and I definitely plan on getting some good training. I've used a rifle and shotgun some (still pretty green with those) but have only shot a handgun a few times with close supervision :D

Here are some of the things I'm hoping it'll do for me:
    1. ammo is cheap enough to do plenty of target practice
    2. general self defense
    3. be able to take care of any varmints I come across (got beavers in our lake, which is manmade and has a dam :mad: )
    4. beginner friendly!

I know the four safety rules - my dad got those fixed in my head when I started shooting. But I'm still new to shooting. I'd sure appreciate any thoughts you all have on which gun I should get. I don't really plan on concealed carry, but it's definitely in the realm of possibilities. Mostly I think I'll be carrying on my hip. I don't really have a preference between a revolver and a semi-automatic. What features should I look for? I'm intending to take somebody with me to buy one that knows guns and knows how to tell whether one fits me.

2. scottman

scottman Bushmaster

Blog Posts:
    Sounds like a general purpose open carry 357 revolver would be right up your alley

3. SpookyPistolero

SpookyPistolero Slow learner Lifetime Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    Sounds like a simple 9mm would work well. Cheap to feed, mild recoil. Just go handle some name brands and see what feels right. A Smith M&P has adjustable back straps(to fit smaller or larger hands) and comes in various sizes. They are not expensive. Glocks grow in trees in most areas.

Lee C., Oakenhart, Torrin and 6 others like this.
  4. Woodsroamer

Woodsroamer Scout

Blog Posts: