First set of trekking poles

Discussion in 'Backpacking' started by Natch, Oct 22, 2018.

1. Natch

Natch Scout

Blog Posts:
    I've decided to buy a pair of trekking poles to take on day hikes and after spending hours reading reviews and watching videos I could use some help.

Budget poles like Foxelli ($70), Montem Ultra Strong ($60), and Cascade ($40) are recommended on a few review sites and Youtube reviewers. When I read the Amazon reviews they really seem hit or miss though. People either have good luck with them or they break after a few hikes. They are affordable the first time, but if they break I'll have spent as much as one of the more expensive sets.

The Black Diamond Distance Z poles are liked by Outdoor Gear labs, but they aren't adjustable, which is something I'd like in order to use them with a tarp. They also liked the Black Diamond Alpine, but they run $150, which is pretty privy for a piece of gear I've never used before. My next question is anything can obviously break, but are they substantially less likely to do so than one of the budget poles?

What would you all suggest? I'd like something that won't take up much space to pair with a 22 liter Osprey pack.

Gruxxx and BradGad like this.
  2. Tangotag

Tangotag Field Gear Junkie Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    There is lots of personal preference involved in Trek poles. It's best to go to a place that at least has a few styles available to try out in the store. Hiking gear shops should have a wide variety. I got a used pair really cheap but would have very specific preferences after using mine for a while.
    If you do lots of steep up and down that will matter lots in the length adjust-ability aspect.
    Initially I though Trek poles were for "much older people" until I tried a pair on slightly wet mud tree root trail. The difference in stability was astounding.
    You could always pick up a budget pair then sell of and get a high end after you find out what you'd really like.