Fishing Kayak

Discussion in 'Paddling' started by Back Off, Jul 17, 2017.

1. Back Off

Back Off Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I am thinking of getting a fishing kayak. I was originally hoping to stay under $1000.00 but That dang Feefree Lure looks tempting at a bit more. I wish they just came with the rudder system. I was also looking at the Mokens as well as offering from several other companies. I will also be using it for duck hunting most likely. I am a pretty big guy so nothing too small. I will be using it on small ponds all the way up to salmon fishing on the great lakes. Standing up would be a plus for some casting but also hunting in cattails which is why that Feelfree lure seems so tempting. The thing is at that price there are a lot of really good Kayaks out there.

Thoughts?

2. outsyder

outsyder Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I've been using fishing kayaks for 10+ years now. Formally I lived in the UK and going on the salt was a big deal so I ran a sit on top (Ocean Kayak Big Game Prowler - I'm a bigger dude) and loved that. BUt I emigrated and sold it, regretted it cos it would have fit in the sea-can!
    Then I got Jackson Cuda when I got over here, bought without trying it and whilst it was all tricked out, very well thought out it did not work for me, I did not like it and as I flyfish almost exclusively it was a unsuitable for that and I found it very unstable and was glad to sell it.
    Now I run a hybrid - Wilderness Systems Commander 140, and I love that. Living in the interior of BC, I have no saltwater accessible and the Commander is perfect for my needs, great as a fishing platform and paddles well. I plan on some extended trips with it too.