Forced Patina Opinions

Discussion in 'Edged Tools' started by HeavyMetals9, Sep 11, 2012.

1. HeavyMetals9

HeavyMetals9 Tracker

Blog Posts:
    I just bought a BK2 from Hugins, havnt received it yet but he had stripped the black coating and put a forced patina on it. Im new to this and have done some research and watched vids on youtube but would like some of your opinions on this. Do you do it? Do you believe it helps or just for looks? I have to say I do like some of the designs Ive seen. Does it require resharpening or reshaping the blade afterward? If it doesnt turn out to my liking can it be polished out and done over again. Thanx.

2. briarbrow

briarbrow Banned Member Banned

Blog Posts:
    the fp will polish off far easier than the original finish and protect it less as well. I guess a light, weak acid patina affords some protection but I cant say how much as I never get much rusting anyway. I have only done it for looks, just to knock the shine off. Some tout acid-sharpening. I believe it so little i have never bothered to check to see what may have been gained of lost with acid etching

3. tsacain

tsacain Tracker

Blog Posts:
    If I am restoring an axe or knife and completely strip it with vinegar I patina the blade. It does help, since it is a form of corrosion. It will help to stop carbon steel from rusting. I think it looks pretty cool also, so that is an added bonus.
    For your question about resharpening I keep all of my edges polished sharp. So there is no patina on the edge. This will happen just by you keeping your BK2 sharp.
    You could remove the patina with sand paper or vinegar but I would just leave it. It keeps the blade from rusting.

4. DeriusT

DeriusT Scout

Blog Posts:
    I'm one of those weirdos who doesn't patina my carbon steel. I like to keep it bare and well rubbed with tallow. However, my brother has used boiled apple cider vinegar and gotten some heavy black patinas that seem to hold up well.

5. RangerJoe