Gear In the Bayou

Discussion in 'Louisiana' started by Thunderwood, Sep 21, 2012.

1. Thunderwood

Thunderwood Scout

Blog Posts:
    Im new to BCUSA but I'm also new to Louisiana too. Until 6 mos ago I lived in Alabama. I havent had many outings so far other than a froggin trip in Bayou Sorrel.

I was just wandering what gear set ups you guys use. I know different regions have different needs and trends and I was curious what it was like here. Ultimately though, it comes down to what you like....which is cool with me too, I just wanna know what you carry either way.:9:

2. Seeker

Seeker Woods Bum Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    depends what i'm doing, but there's not a huge difference between what i use here and in my native upstate NY. the basics are almost exactly the same...

clothing here: lightweight shoes, wool socks, quick-dry nylon pants. cotton t shirt year round. just too sticky otherwise. carry a quick-dry nylon long sleeve shirt in fall/winter. USGI wool shirt is good in winter. wide brimmed hat all year. sometimes a fleece hat for at night.

clothing there: synthetic T for day wear, sleep in a cotton T. add a quick-dry nylon long sleeve shirt. the shoes, pants, and wool socks are the same. fleece hat goes with me all seasons. USGI wool shirt is good in spring/fall, a bit overkill in summer. don't go to NY in the winter anymore.

cooking setup-same both places... mors pot for boiling water to rehydrate meals. MSR Simmerlite gas stove, or pocket rocket butane stove for light trips.

canoeing-water shoes when the water's warm, boots when it's not. same in both places.

sleep system-Hammock, tarp, 35* underquilt, 35* sleeping bag. same both places. sometimes, IF i go out here in the summer, I only need a poncho liner for an underquilt.

raingear-USGI poncho in both places.