Getting Started in Archery

Discussion in 'Archery' started by BradGad, Sep 10, 2019.

1. BradGad

BradGad Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I took a day-long class about four weeks ago and really got bitten by the archery bug. It’s been a while since I was this excited about a new endeavor.

I am really lucky I think: my mentor is both a former world champion in long bow and a gifted teacher.

I have been using a PSE youth bow that I got for my boys a couple years ago — practicing pretty much every day — but my “big boy bow” arrived yesterday. A 65” 30# - 35# hickory long bow made by Crows Head Archery. I got it for about $40 less than the listed price. I am quite enamored with traditional self bows.

https://www.crowshead.com/65-bushman-flatbow/

F18B3719-D871-4267-AB53-0C82AFFA461A.jpeg

View attachment 792789

Last edited: Sep 10, 2019
  2. Terasec

Terasec Guide

Blog Posts:
    enjoy your new obsession
    do love archery, great sport and great activity in/out the field
    I have 2 bows 60#-70# compound, 25# bunny bow and my son has a 15# bear lil archer bow
    my 25# bunny bow gets most use

3. Outdoor Dauber

Outdoor Dauber Roughian #3 Supporter

Blog Posts:
    That is a great looking bow and quiver, Brad!! I've been looking for an inexpensive recurve or longbow in decent shape at yardsales, etc. Most I've found are warped, split or insanely priced.

4. gila_dog

gila_dog Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts: