How far have you pushed temp ratings

Discussion in 'Sleep Systems' started by UAHiker, Oct 1, 2018.

1. UAHiker

UAHiker Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    one thing i've always been curious about is temp ratings on bags and quilts. i understand how they come up with the ratings and get that everyone is slightly different all depending on if your a hot sleeper, conditions outside, clothes your sleeping in, ect....

what i'm wondering though is how far have you pushed your temp rating on your sleep system? what do you feel comfortable pushing it too? for example say you have a 50 degree rating would you be comfortable pushing it into the 40's? what about the 30's?

i'll go i have a 10 degree quilt that i have taken to single digits if i remember correctly and was comfortably warm with the appropriate clothing warn to bed

Bobsdock and blind & lost like this.
  2. DKR

DKR Scout

Blog Posts:
    Willingly? Couple of times I spent the night freezing my nads off after the chopper didn't come back for pickup. Poncho liner x 2 and a poncho is not a sleep system - even on the edge of Death Valley in April. Once the sun goes down, it doesn't take long to get cold...

After that, I always carried a ruck with a full sleeping bag, stove, 3 x days of chow and all the water that would fit....even on road trips.

Moat folks that wind up 'testing' the limits of their sleep system do so out of calamity and not by choice.

sea6ear, AdamD1776, Bobsdock and 5 others like this.
  3. HeadyBrew

HeadyBrew Supporter Supporter Bushcraft Friend

Blog Posts:
    Only time I can recall truly testing the rating was unintentional. Spent a cold, miserable night in my hammock with the temps hovering around freezing in my 20* bag. That taught me the importance of insulation from underneath (pad or UQ).