How strong does my ridgeline rope need to be?

Discussion in 'Hammocks' started by Knifeguy, Oct 25, 2017.

1. Knifeguy

Knifeguy Tracker

Blog Posts:
    I know my entire body weight won't be put on it, but how strong should it be? I've got some rope from wally world that is rated for 30 pounds. Is that enough? I'm pretty new to hammocks and I'm trying to figure it all out.

NevadaBlue, isme, svh and 2 others like this.
  2. NWPrimate

NWPrimate Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I don't think it necessarily needs to take your weight, but 30lbs is a bit lighter than I would have confidence in if there were any chance of strong winds. Paracord or #36 bankline would be a huge improvement.

NevadaBlue, isme, OldMan and 3 others like this.
  3. PAcanis

PAcanis Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Good question.
    I see guys on YT saying to test your cooking tripod with your body weight... to what? Hang a bush pot from it? That's all I see them doing :confused:
    Surely there is some flexibility in how strong something actually needs to be. Especially if it's just for short term.

4. Luchtaine

Luchtaine MOA #22 Supporter Bushcraft Friend Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    Are you talking structural ridge to adjust the hang of the hammock or just a ridge for your tarp?

NevadaBlue, Winterhorse, isme and 2 others like this.
  5. Winterhorse

Winterhorse Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Nope, thirty pounds isn’t strong enough. You’re stretching that line between two trees tight enough to keep it straight and level then you’re hanging a tarp. From it and staking it down tight enough to keep it taught. When I pull the ridge line tight I’m putting some serious “umph” into it.
    I’m not a ridgeline expert but I wouldn’t go any lighter than 550 paracord and the ridge line I use is three of them braided together.

6. Luchtaine

Blog Posts: