How to remove a spoon from a piece of wood...

Discussion in 'Other Skills' started by Rumblebuffin, Feb 13, 2017.

1. Rumblebuffin

Rumblebuffin Tracker

Blog Posts:
    So I split a bit off of an ash log in my backyard... and I want to try my hand at making a spoon. Could anyone kindly point me towards a solid tutorial or some instructions to get me started?

Thanks!

Finner and Winterhorse like this.
  2. Broke

Broke Back yard bushcrafter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Check out the self made gear forum. First post, sticky, should give you some solid examples.
    Adam G

Finner, T. Pollock and Rumblebuffin like this.
  3. Finner

Finner Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I'm new to spoon carving but have found Ben Orford and Robin Wood to be very helpful.

Rumblebuffin likes this.
  4. Rumblebuffin

Rumblebuffin Tracker

Blog Posts:
    I can't stand it... If Robin Wood is whittling, is that Wood working or woodworking?

Solid suggestions! Thank you!

5. Greebe

Greebe Non ducor, duco. Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Carving is easy, just remove everything that is not a spoon, and voila, your left with a spoon. I say that half joking, but it is really true. After carving a few hundred I have gotten to the point where I just visualize what I want to carve and start removing wood until I am left with a spoon. I never plan ahead or draw anything out. I just let the wood tell me what it wants to be and go with it. I guess my point is to get your axe, knife, and hook out and go to it. The wood will help guide it. Also you might check out any of the works by Wille Sundqvist or his son Jogge.

6. Greebe

Blog Posts: