Interested in knife throwing, basic advice needed

Discussion in 'Edged Tools' started by Pastor Chris, May 16, 2018.

1. Pastor Chris

Pastor Chris Keeper of the T.Darrah Tenkara Pass-Around Hobbyist Supporter Bushcraft Friend Hardwoodsman Bushclass II

Blog Posts:
    Hey folks. Jake and I have been watching "FIF Knife and Death" together and he has become interested in throwing knives, which is something we could set up in our smaller back yard.

Naturally, I went to Amazon and looked a bit at some sets and their reviews, but I was wondering if there were any major pitfalls to try to avoid before spending the money on some.

I have no experienced with these and have no idea of what I am looking for.

Just FYI this is one of the sets we were looking at.

https://www.amazon.com/Smith-Wesson...pID=51zr6CODAHL&preST=_SY300_QL70_&dpSrc=srch

Thanks in advance for your anticipated excellent advice.

rsnurkle, ArmyMacE, renter6 and 8 others like this.
  2. central joe

central joe Supporter Supporter Bushcraft Friend

Blog Posts:
    For the price it's a cheap few hours of fun even if they don't work out young fellar. joe

3. dub

dub Supporter Supporter Bushcraft Friend

Blog Posts:
    No experience with knife throwing but...

Actually, the different ways he throws it are pretty cool.

4. Mitch Ray

Mitch Ray Guide

Blog Posts:
    I've thrown a bunch, and I think the best bang for your buck is some of The Cold Steel Offerings.

https://www.amazon.com/Cold-Steel-8...526503920&sr=8-1&keywords=true+flight+thrower

https://www.amazon.com/008064-Cold-...03943&sr=1-1&keywords=perfect+balance+thrower

They are heavy enough to spin properly and durable. It's much easier to learn on a hawk than a knife. A heavy weight forward knife like a kukri is also a bit easier to throw. Getting your form and distance consistent is key. I've never messed with the "no-spin" throwing but some people like it.

5. TRYKER

TRYKER Guide

Blog Posts: