Knife noob needing advice

Discussion in 'Edged Tools' started by Dirty Larry, Nov 10, 2018 at 5:02 PM.

1. Dirty Larry

Dirty Larry Tinder Gatherer

Blog Posts:
    So I'm new to bushcraft and (serious)knife-use. I took the first step and purchased a Mora Bushcraft Black(I hope it wasn't a bad decision) and two DMT Dia-Sharp credit card size sharpening stone(600 mesh and 1200 mesh). I've never really sharpened a knife before other than using some cheapo pull through with ceramic rods on some random kitchen knives.

I've watched videos on techniques and think I might have an idea of how to do it but wanted to confirm with the pro's(you guys ;) ). So, right out of the box do I go for the 600 mesh and go to town for a bit on both sides and then go for the 1200 or not? I assume based on what I've seen that I lay the bevel flat on the stone and work it either back and forth or simply stroke forehand/backhand.

All advice is welcome! Really wanting to get serious about bushcraft this next year and hike/camp etc.

2. Crusher0032

Crusher0032 Appalachian Arthfael

Blog Posts:
    Mora's come laser sharp so all you should need for normal maintenance is sandpaper and a a piece of leather for a strop. Sharpeners are really only necessary if you put large nicks in your blade.

As for using 600 or 1200, that would depend on how bad the damage to your edge is. The lower the number, the more material it takes off.

3. Outdoor Dauber

Outdoor Dauber Scout

Blog Posts:
    IMO, any Mora is a solid choice.

4. mtngunr

mtngunr Scout

Blog Posts:
    THE best advise I can give is to blacken the edge with a Sharpie, and practice strokes on the inside of a cereal/cracker box, and watch where black rubs off, and meanwhile will be removing a factory burr to edge, which you will feel.