Legal Regulations in Southern California

Discussion in 'California' started by Elliott Sauerwald, Jan 16, 2018.

1. Elliott Sauerwald

Elliott Sauerwald BCUSA Friend Bushcraft Friend

Blog Posts:
    Hello folks,

I live in LA and I've been trying to find some good places to do a day trip and eventually over nighters in Southern California. I've discovered that there are a lot of regulations in place that would prevent one from doing a lot of bushcraft activities. I've heard you can pretty much do anything on BLM land, but I'm not sure. Honestly I'm fairly new to this and most of the outdoors stuff I've done has been in Idaho when visiting my dad, where laws are a lot different. I just don't understand why you aren't allowed to collect dead sticks to put in a fire or stuff like that. I totally see the need for fire limitations during certain seasons, but some things just don't make sense. I've been searching pretty hard for more info, but it continues to allude me. Any advice? I've heard the Angeles National Forest is great, but I don't know where to start. I love Joshua Tree, but they have similar regulations. I want to get away from established campsites and set up my own.

Thanks!

Basically I'm wondering if anyone knows of some places were I can do some basic bushcraft stuff in Southern California.

Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
  2. ezra45

ezra45 Supporter Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    Fellow Californians should answer this. Most out-of-staters with tongue in cheek will simply say..."Move...".