Longbow or Recurve

Discussion in 'Archery' started by Poeschel, Nov 18, 2018.

1. Poeschel

Poeschel Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Whats your preference and why? I have a Martin Mamba recurve which is 45#. I’d like to get another bow around 30# to really hone in my form. I hunt with a compound but I killed one this year so I’d like to spend some good amount of time working on my trad skills. Can’t decide between a recurve or longbow.

JasonJ likes this.
  2. JC1

JC1 Guide

Blog Posts:
    Recurve, longbows and self bows, I have all, shoot all and enjoy all.

In other words, no matter which you get today, you will get the other later on :D

3. J. Pierce

J. Pierce Perpetually Off Topic, Sorry. Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I shot recurve when I was young, then shot the same longbow for probably 25 years.
    But something has happened over those two and a half decades, and the draw weight appears to have increased substantially................
    I just pick up a lower poundage recurve the other day, I've only shot it a few time so far, but I do really like it.

It could be the lower draw weight or it might be the recurve, but it has less hand shock than my 63 lb. longbow.
    I have to admit the grip is nice, I don't feel like I have to think about my bow hand as much as I did with a longbow.
    A hybrid longbow with a recurve style of grip and a little reflex deflex combines both into one, just something else to consider, or to muddy up the waters whatever the case may be.

I think in the grand scheme of things it really doesn't matter that much, pick one and become familiar with it and it's bound to become your prefered bow, no matter which one you choose.

jasam likes this.
  4. mjh

mjh Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts: