Looking for some good saw recommendations

Discussion in 'General Bushcraft Discussion' started by MaddHatter, Jun 13, 2019.

1. MaddHatter

MaddHatter Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Some years ago, everyone went on and on about the Bahco saw so I got one. Never been thrilled about it. It feels was like I have to do a lot of extra work. I just tried taking it through a 2 inch piece of basswood and it was a real chore I couldn’t even make a full cut. I know that I am a noob but it doesn’t seem like it should be that difficult to work with. To be fair I did lend it to a friend and got it back slightly bent so I know that is a factor too. Anyone got any recommendations on a good saw thats still field worthy?

BBizy, Mick Badgero, Sosteve and 3 others like this.
  2. Wasp

Wasp DOWN IN DIXIE Hobbyist Supporter

Blog Posts:
    It won't work well bent. Most saws work better on the pull cut. I don't have one but a Silky is really popular and I've always wanted one.
    Bahco is pretty popular though and mine seems to work well.

BBizy, Mick Badgero, Sosteve and 4 others like this.
  3. Red Yeti

Red Yeti Mostly Harmless Hobbyist Supporter Bushclass I Bushclass II

Blog Posts:
    Silky is my favorite for using, but they can be easily bent by those not used to the skinny blade and pull stroke cutting, so Bacho for lending....

:38:

Last edited: Jun 13, 2019
    BBizy, Mick Badgero, Sosteve and 6 others like this.
  4. MaddHatter

MaddHatter Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Lol yes I know...thats what I get for lending out my tools. Too be fair, I was out on an overnight fishing trip with my brother and his friend.

5. Seeker

Seeker Woods Bum Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts: