Lyman Trade Rifle

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by Back Off, Jul 14, 2017.

1. Back Off

Back Off Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Hi all,

I am just sitting here cleaning this beautiful peace of steel, brass and wood. I have yet to shoot this one and cant wait. I am kind of thinking staying traditional here with no sabots, just round ball or conical's. I was thinking of leaving it as is then taking the first deer that I kill with it (harvest if your offended by kill) and make a nice gun case, sling and possibles bag out of the hide. I dont think I will tan it myself but I think it would be cool to keep this one traditional. I have owned several but all plastic stock and migrated to inline so here I am going back in time and loving it. I feel out of place with a Mora Garberg as my main hunting knife with this one so probable going to go old school there as well. I have been hunting with black powder off an on for over 20 years and this is my 6th one that I owned. My wife is still shooting her little T/C treehawk that was the first one I ever bought. I bought a Silver Hawk from T/C in .54. Traded that on a T/C black Diamond in .50 cal, hated that and got the Winchester X150 in .45 cal made by CVA. My son now has that one. I found another T/C Treehawk for my daughter. The Tree Hawks are both .50 cal's. This Lyman Tradesman is a .54. I am seriously thinking of taking a week off during the black powder season and just camping out solo and still hunting with this. Should be fun!

19764605_125379121400220_6348131254566649856_n(1).jpg

2. akbound

akbound Guide

Blog Posts:
    Nice rifle! I like your hunting/camping idea, sounds like a enjoyable way to do it.

Back Off, central joe and pab1 like this.
  3. Bent Chile

Bent Chile Tracker

Blog Posts: