Polar, Lauri, Brisa

Discussion in 'Edged Tools' started by GoKartz, Aug 10, 2018 at 5:36 AM.

?

Which blade maker should I pick?

1. Lauri

2. Brisa

3. Polar

4. Other - I'll explain below

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. GoKartz

GoKartz Sharpaholic Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Howdy folks,

I'm looking at picking up a stick-tang blade or two (or three...) to make my first knife. I'm still going back and forth between birch bark, birch, and stacked leather for the handle... Anyways, I'm trying to decide on a blade from one of the three listed makers - Polar, Lauri, and Brisa, all which seem to run in the $10-20 range.

Anyways, I have no experience with any of them. I've heard a little about the Lauri PT blades - mostly that they're used in the Kellam Wolverine, which is supposed to be excellent. Any of y'all have experience with any of these makers? Would you recommend one over the other?

Look forward to hearing what y'all say. I'd appreciate any suggestions, but if you start suggesting non-stick tangs or significantly more expensive blades it'll be less helpful for me. :)

Thanks!

GK

Madwell, Primordial, buckfynn and 2 others like this.
  2. Youcantreadinthedark

Youcantreadinthedark Amphibian. Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    I've worked with all of those, and they're all fine choices. I seem to remember brisas being a little over the 10-20 dollar rangs, though.
    You'll need to anneal the tangs. I have successfully beaten Lauri peens into submission without annealing it (back when I didn't know what annealing meant), so if you're hot to trot, that's at least an option. My favorites are Lauris but they involve significantly more work fitting bolsters than the polars. I'd look at the Enzo black beavers, too, especially if you can find one with a threaded tang and a nut to fit.

3. GoKartz

Blog Posts: