Primitive Pottery

Discussion in 'Other Skills' started by OrienM, Sep 29, 2018.

1. OrienM

OrienM Guide

Blog Posts:
    A few pics from this morning's project, something I've never tried before: pit-firing primitive pottery. Miraculously, all three test pieces survived the firing!

pottery1.jpg

The clay was dug a few weeks ago, processed to remove twigs and gravel, then molded into simple pinch pots and left to dry. Nothing very fancy or well-finished; mostly, I just wanted to see if the clay would stand the fire without exploding.

For today's firing, a pit was dug and a small fire was built. The pots were preheated next to the fire for a half hour or so; once they got good and hot they were pushed in using a stick, and buried in the hot coals. A good-sized campfire was built on top, and kept burning for about an hour. After the last batch of wood burned down to coals I shoveled dirt on top, and left it all to cool for a couple hours before returning to dig the fired pottery back up.

pottery2.jpg

pottery3.jpg

I'm still finding it pretty amazing that heat transforms plain old mud into something so durable...:eek::)

I'll likely be doing a few more pottery experiments in coming weeks...I'm hoping to teach simple pottery-making to my high school primitive skills class, sometime later this fall. This clay source is actually in the school driveway, lol...it should be possible to pit-fire their finished work right there at the school as well, which will be fun (and memorable) for the kids.

Thanks for looking!
    -Orien

Last edited: Sep 29, 2018
  2. JKR

JKR Scout

Blog Posts:
    Man, that is terrific! Keep it up!

3. NattyBo

NattyBo Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Awesome work!
    Is the one an oil lamp?

4. Bridgetdaddy

Bridgetdaddy Guide

Blog Posts:
  5. central joe

central joe Supporter Supporter Bushcraft Friend

Blog Posts:
    A fine job young fellar. joe

6. NevadaBlue

NevadaBlue Graybeard Supporter Bushcraft Friend Bushclass I

Blog Posts: