Prototype In Use - Review

Discussion in 'Wilderness Spirit' started by Tech, May 2, 2016.

1. Tech

Tech Solo Craft Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    I've had this knife that Tim was generous enough to lend out for well over a month now and have put it to multiple tasks and these are my thoughts about this knife. I am by no means an expert or authority on knives, I just like using them! First impression when receiving the set up was how cool he had put it in a sealed bag. I like stuff like that, some thought into presentation can go a long way.
    [​IMG][/url]IMG_5535 by Tech Craft, on Flickr[/IMG]

Specs as listed by Tim:
    steel: O1 tool steel ,heat treated in house to 59 rc
    grind: convex
    thickness: 5/32"
    oal: 8 1/2"
    blade: 4"
    handle: brown canvas micarta with od g10 liners, brass loveless bolts with stainless steel eye
    welded pommel plate O1 tool steel
    sheath: coyote brown kydex with dangler

The knife fits snugly into the kydex sheath. No rattle as you walk around and no chance it would fall out. However, with the leather the set up tended to no go at an "angle" and I found myself adjusting it often as I moved about, on the other hand I liked the distance from my hand to the blade and ease of access because I could put my whole hand around the handle.
    [​IMG][/url]IMG_5558 by Tech Craft, on Flickr[/IMG]
    [​IMG][/url]IMG_5559 by Tech Craft, on Flickr[/IMG]

The fit and finish was nice but a few gaps between the blade and liner could be seen, not a big deal on a Prototype but something I might pick at if spending my own cash.
    [​IMG][/url]IMG_5563 by Tech Craft, on Flickr[/IMG]
    [​IMG][/url]IMG_5561 by Tech Craft, on Flickr[/IMG]

This was one of the sharpest convex blades that I've used. Tim did a great job on a sharp edge with a nice shine to it. Fire prep came easy and quick first time out.
    [​IMG][/url]IMG_5565 by Tech Craft, on Flickr[/IMG]
    [​IMG][/url]IMG_5564 by Tech Craft, on Flickr[/IMG]