Question for Archers.

Discussion in 'Archery' started by JAY, Feb 9, 2018.

1. JAY

JAY Guide

Blog Posts:
    I am relative new to archery. I have a Samick Sage, 45 lb. bow.and I like it. I wanted to do a slight upgrade to it and ordered a flemish fast flight string. Since i don't have the equipment to install the noch or the silencer thingy's, I told 3 rivers what Bow and poundage I owned and asked them to put the stuff on the string. I called the company and asked them why when i lay the bow on the table and place the arrow in it, why is the arrow pointed downward of center. After explaining that it is normal to do it that way, I attempted to understand, and am more confused then I was before. It is winter yet and my targets are not yet set up so I have yet to try it out. Will I now have to aim way above the target in hopes to hit it. I am self taught and usually aim at about the 2 o-clock position to hit center of target. I judge by the postition of the tip of arrow, I don't know if I will be shooting into the air or hitting the ground below the target. I am not complaining or judging 3 rivers, I just don't understand. The bow came from Carbela's and came with the arrow showing straight out.

2. Cro

Cro American Grouch Supporter Bushcraft Friend Bushclass I Bushclass Instructor

Blog Posts:
    Nocking points are commonly above 90 on traditional bows. Of the bows I own it ranges from 1\4" to nearly 1 full inch above 90.

Do a google search for tuning traditional bows.

Here's one that will speak to your question to an extent.

The below link will take you to a very informative series on tuning your bow.

http://www.bestrecurvebowguide.com/tuning-your-recurve-bow-part-1/

Primordial, SmilinJoe and JAY like this.
  3. Hillbilly stalker

Hillbilly stalker Scout

Blog Posts: