Roselli Nikkarinpuukko

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by Frederick89, Nov 24, 2018.

1. Frederick89

Frederick89 Scout

Blog Posts:
    Second review of the series. First one is here.
    https://bushcraftusa.com/forum/threads/kauhavan-puukkopaja-yleispuukko.236862/

Roselli Nikkarinpuukko

Heimo Roselli
    [​IMG]
    founded his firm in 1976, after two years of self taught forging, in Harmoinen, a town 90 km east of Tampere, in central Finland.

Given the period in which he started his activity he can boast, and doesn’t loose a chance to do so, of being one of the blacksmiths that contributed to the rebirth of Finnish bladesmithing.
    In those years Finland was living a heavy transition towards factory productions, so also the replacement of forged objects with the stamped and cheaper counterparts. Knives weren’t an exception and blacksmiths and knifesmiths that kept forging knives to a certain level weren’t many: Kustaa Lammi, Altti Kankaanpää, Yrjö Puronvarsi, Veikko Hakkarainen, Roselli and few others.

During the 80s and 90s Roselli shifted from hammer forging to the current with hydraulic press and stamping; the knives shifted from full convex and full length tang, to “scandi” and hidden tang; the sheaths dismissed the back stitching to adopt the current mixed one. Today H. Roselli Oy employs, together with the founder, ten workers.

blade

length - 87 mm
    wideness -21 mm
    thickness - 3 mm
    steel - W75
    grind - flat
    edge angle - 17°, slightly convex
    edge hardness - ~ 60 HRC

handle
    length - 112 mm
    wideness - 28 mm max.
    thickness - 20 mm max.

weight
    knife - 75 g
    with sheath - 111 g