rowing instead of paddling

Discussion in 'Paddling' started by huntinhick, Apr 30, 2011.

1. huntinhick

huntinhick Tracker

Blog Posts:
    hello all,

I have been paddling my ocean kayak Malibu II for the last 3 years for fishing and playing. I was going to pick up a couple canoes to take my kids and wife out in but lately I have been thinking about a dory like the wineglass wherry from pygmy kayaks or the n'eastern dory form clc boats. they seem like a nice non-power option that has most of the canoe benefits plus extra stability and size. both of the dory's can be rowed solo or double. I would love to load my gear up and head to the primitive side of lake Chelan or Roosevelt lake up here in Washington. what do you all think is is a good option or should I just stick to the canoe idea? I would be using the boats to take my boys fishing and the family just out on the water mostly used in lakes or the sound.

carl

2. solocanoe

solocanoe Bushmaster

Blog Posts:
    I love Dories myself!

They are fantasticly stable, a lot of fun, and was one of the first boats I was allowed to leave the shore by myself in - think like 4 or something...the worst thing that could have happened was an adult would have had to swim out to get me, but they kept me close I'm sure.

The only reason I'm sure this happened is I saw it happen as I got older and with younger cousins...and the comments of the other adults and a few pictures of me on Lake Seneca off G-ma's beach.

They handle waves really well - that's why they are so popular in the windier climes. A nice short/wide dory with 3 seats gives a lot of room for folks to spread out! :)

the only downside is there's no way to portage them of course...and you'd want to trailer if you didn't have any lakefront place to keep it - but the are NICE (to me)

3. Seeker

Seeker Woods Bum Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    That rednecky area between Baltimore and Philly.