Sharpening the Scandinavian

Discussion in 'Edged Tools' started by littlecanoe, Oct 12, 2019.

1. littlecanoe

littlecanoe Tinder Gatherer

Hello.

I’m new to BC and was pleased to find others who like Scandinavian knives. A few years ago I scratched the itch to build a few knives after a gentleman gave me a fairly basic blank to scale. That project turned out decent results.

Since I lost no digits in the process I began looking at the Scandinavian design. The single bevel appealed because of my limited skill at sharpening. My reasoning? “Surely I can keep that nice wide single bevel on the stone for a sharp edge”. I’ve enjoyed the process and have complete six blanks. However, getting “that edge” is elusive. I can get a moderately sharp edge but can take it no further.

If anyone can suggest tricks or tips I’d sure appreciate it.

2. central joe

central joe Wait For Me!! Supporter Bushcraft Friend

A slight secondary bevel will help a lot. joe

3. Damian1690

Damian1690 Scout

Try stropping it, too.

littlecanoe, Line Dawg, Jacob and 2 others like this.
  4. batmanacw

batmanacw Bushmaster

Keep it flat and on the coarsest stone you have until you get a burr that moves side to side as you sharpen. Then work your finer stone or stones.

Once I clean up to a zero grind I'll raise the angle on a fine stone to about 15° per side, 30° degrees included, and do 3 per side, 2 per side, 1 per side. Then I strop with black compound. You can do green too but not necessary.

If you take the full edge to a burr along the entire edge on your coarse stone you will literally not be able to avoid getting it shaving sharp.

The micro-bevel is a must in my book. You will only have to take it back to zero every so often.

5. Jacob

Jacob Guide

@littlecanoe