Shelter half

Discussion in 'Winter Camping' started by roesso, Jan 30, 2018.

1. roesso

roesso Scout

Blog Posts:
    I have a German shelter half. I would like to try out this winter .does anyone use them to camp in the winter. I have a 20 degree down bag and a to go system bivy . We have snow coming in next week would like to try it out

2. thereandbackagain

thereandbackagain Scout

Blog Posts:
    YOUTUBE SURVIVAL RUSSIA has episodes with Lars wearing one. there are several tutorials for folding them online.

central joe likes this.
  3. Greebe

Greebe Non ducor, duco.

Blog Posts:
    Hopefully you have two halves and not just the one. :D I used them in the Army, and never really cared for having all the critters in the tent with us. Remember the first time I used one in the south in basic training and waking up to a huge centipede crawling across my face. Then in the morning I woke up with a few more down under. :eek:

These were always used as two man tents as well so they were pretty cozy.

4. ReallyBigMonkey1

ReallyBigMonkey1 Scout

Blog Posts:
    If you use two halves over a bivy you should have no issues at all. With no floor I would put two pads in the bottom of the bivy for winter sleeping

central joe likes this.
  5. racetrack

racetrack Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    They dont shed snow at all. It just sticks there and weighs everything down. A poly tarp stretched over top will help this.

6. koreamarine

koreamarine Tracker

Blog Posts:
    If it is like a zeltbahn-- no clue. Never used one.
    If it is designed like the US version- you can do a lot.

A floor, made of a poncho liner sandwiched between two ponchos- it will fit in there perfectly.