1. Due to the amount of SPAM from foreign countries lately, we have made the decision to manually approve all new members. While we regret that this must be done and the added time that it will take for new members to be approved, it is necessary at this time. We hope to have legitimate new members approved in a timely manner, no longer than a couple of hours. If the Administrators are online at the time, it can be as soon as a couple of minutes. Thank you for your patience.
    Dismiss Notice

Sleeping Bag with Quilt Question

Discussion in 'Winter Camping' started by CharClothed, Sep 12, 2017.

1. CharClothed

CharClothed Guide

Blog Posts:
    So I just got the Marmot Never Summer, I was curious though. If I got a 40 degree down quilt to go on top of the bag, would that up the temp rating of my 0 degree sleeping bag at all?

central joe and gohammergo like this.
  2. Lichen

Lichen Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    What's the temperature rating on the sleeping bag?

central joe and gohammergo like this.
  3. gohammergo

gohammergo Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Yes.

Everything you add helps. Except like a wet burlap sack. That wouldn't help! :)

4. CharClothed

CharClothed Guide

Blog Posts:
    "would that up the temp rating of my 0 degree sleeping bag at all?"

central joe likes this.
  5. central joe

central joe Guide

Blog Posts:
    Don't forget insulation from the ground to keep down conductive heat loss. joe

gohammergo likes this.
  6. Unistat76

Unistat76 Nerd Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    Did you ever get an underquilt? Piling on layers certainly will help, but insulating your backside (whether in a hang or on the ground) will warm you more efficiently, in my experience. To a certain point, anyway.

I have a queen size down bed comforter I'm contemplating rigging as an underquilt.

gohammergo and central joe like this.
  7. mtwarden

mtwarden roaming the Big Sky Supporter

Blog Posts: