Squirrel Snaring 101- A Tutorial

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Gathering' started by Bitterroot Native, Mar 16, 2018.

1. Bitterroot Native

Bitterroot Native Indigenous Skills Junkie

Blog Posts:
    Hello BCUSA! Last summer I decided to try my hand at snaring squirrels and found great success with it. I am far from an expert on snaring squirrels with only a scant few months of trapping them under my belt but I would like to share what I learned!

Always check local laws and regulations before setting any traps/snares and also make sure to have permission from the land owner if applicable.

The western red squirrel has an unmistakable presence in much of the northern US/Canada as well as the higher elevations further south, such as the Rocky Mountains. They are PLENTIFUL, taste excellent, and their hides are very useful and versatile for making clothing. Squirrel hides were used as a source of year round fur and meat for many indigenous groups.
    Whether it be for food, fur, or use in a survival situation, knowing how to catch these tree ninjas is a skill I think every woodsman/bushcrafter could benefit from.

(Don't let the lack of a sword and mask fool you, squirrel is a ninja in almost every sense of the word.)
    1501050536369.jpg

Almost all survival texts and information online I came across on this subject describe using a snare pole (a wooden pole with multiple snare loops attached) leaned up against a tree to make a "leaning pole set." I'm sure that squirrels can be caught using this method, however myself and many others have found that a horizontal pole set (a snare pole placed horizontally between two trees) produces much better results.