Steripen adventurer - what do you think about it?

Discussion in 'Cooking & Water Purification' started by insector, Jul 4, 2019.

1. insector

insector Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I have this one which I have been using for about 4 years. So far so good. I am mainly worried about giardia (beaver fever) in the mountain streams around here. For backpacking. I notice not many here use one. Any issues?

I may try the MSR trailshot one day....... this one packs light and is easy to use with a 1 liter nalgene bottle for solo hiking...........I use a bandana for a filter............... 20190704_123241.jpg 20190704_123206.jpg

2. Muskeg_Stomper

Muskeg_Stomper Tiaga & Tundra Wanderer Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I’ve drank some pretty foul lake water after filtering through a clean handkerchief and boiling. Steripen probably achieves about the same result as boiling. I prefer a real water filter that removes all the other stuff too and the flavor and water clarity is greatly improved.

3. John from Alberta

John from Alberta Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I’ve used a Steripen for over 10 years. Mostly sterilizing mountain streams where I’m concerned about Crypto and Giardia and there’s generally not a lot of sediment. It’s great for solo or two person backpacking trips. It becomes tedious when you’re sterilizing water for more than a couple of people though.

I talked to a friend of mine who is in charge of water treatment for a large portion of Alberta and has his PhD in the subject and he was confident in the claims they make as to its efficacy.

I’ve found myself using a gravity filter now for my bushcraft trips, but will still likely bring the Steripen backpacking when I’m concerned with weight.

4. Todd1hd

Todd1hd Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts: